Is there a 'solution' to life?

Self-Control


So when I finished my last post, on Saturday morning originally I was thinking a lot about self control, and why humans act the way we do.

My big question is why do we humans, do what we want? Well, you might come back with the snappy retort, “because we want to” and in response I have to admit I would cry a little inside, and then change the topic.

But what if we looked at it a little more seriously, get past the humor for a moment and think about why do we do what we want? Because we believe that it is what’s best for us, or because we think it’s whats right.

Well, here’s a little story about a guy who was a pretty good guy most of the time, but he went of the rails.

It was a Spring evening in Jerusalem, King David has sent his commander in chief to war. Atypically to the climate, when kings led from the front, rather then the rear.

One evening David just could not sleep, he got up from his bed, and went for a walk around the palace, he went outside to get some air, on the palace roof (as you do). When he was up on the roof, having a wee looksie he spied a woman, a “B – E – A -U- tiful” woman, so he summoned up a servant, and asked about the woman. He was told that this woman he’d seen was Bathsheba, wife to a warrior in David’s army called Uriah.

So he find out who this woman is, and I don’t know what goes through his head, and I’m not going to try and guess, anyways.

He sent for her, and we’re told “she came to him, and he lay with her” later we find out, David got her preggers. Nice one there, a spring evening, started with a little bit of difficulty to sleep, has ended up with a married woman pregnant, with David’s child. This makes things tricky for David, so he tries to work his way out of it.

He sends for a report from the battle field, requesting that Uriah brings it. So Uriah brings the report back, and David takes the report, and thanks him, and tells him to go home, and relax for a day before eating at the palace, and then returning to the battle field.

Uriah, hardcore man that he is, says

The ark and Israel and Judah are dwelling in tents, and my lord Joab and the servants of my lord are encamped in the open fields. Shall I then go to my house to eat and drink, and to lie with my wife? As you live, and as your soul lives, I will not do this thing.

meaning, Nah, I’m gonna chill on your floor, I don’t want to go back have been living the dream at home with my wife, when all my friends are sleeping on the dirt.

So he doesn’t visit his wife. Therefore, the blame will still be on David.

So David sends a sealed message to his commander in chief, ordering him to send Uriah into the front lines, in to the toughest part of the fighting, and once they are committed, retreat, leaving Uriah (and everbody fighting in the section) trapped, with no chance of survival.

Sure enough, David’s plan works. Uriah is killed. Which is a poor shout, because he was a good guy, worked hard and had respect for his fellow man. He didn’t deserve to die.

David at this point has gone MASSIVELY off the rails, he’s broken 7 of the top 10 rules, he’s lied, stolen, cheated, disrespected God, his parents and basically smashed 7 of the 10 commandments to smithereens. Not so good. (He does at least marry Bathsheba, but thats not the end of the story, look it up in 2 Samuel 11 onwards)

Ok so, that is a snipet out of David’s life – and I admit I’m casting him in a very bad light especially when you consider the rest of his life. Anyways, David’s taken what he wants because he wants it. He has its own wives, who are no doubt exceptionally fine, but he does it anyways.

Why? Why does David mess up here? I understand why he’s tempted and all, I’m not stupid, but he’s living for God, and he’s all totally fired up and living the dream, the way God planned right. So why does he just decide to have sex with a married woman, kill off her husband, and countless others?

Is it just because he want’s to break out on his own?

I’m not sure I know why he does it other then sometimes we just mess up and lose hold of our self-control.

If you’ve any theories I’d love to hear them, drop a comment below, Cheers.

Comments on: "Self-Control" (1)

  1. Here’s a URL so you can read Samuel 11-12, you can look at different versions, the one I’ve linked is called “The message” and its a very poetic translation, that goes for the meaning rather then the literal translation (IE it explains the meaning of a saying, rather then just the saying and we have no idea what they actually meant by it.)

    http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=2%20Samuel%2011-12&version=MSG

Leave a Reply

