Is there a 'solution' to life?


Hey guys and gals, its another day at Lead Up, and after a solid 7 hours of sleep, I’m pumped up and ready to go on the Strategic adventure day, and get some feed back on Yesterday’s serving.
But before we get to that part of the day, we had this mornings Bible teaching – first things first!

We looked at Luke 12:13 -48

and our theme was looking at the “Big idea” that’s today’s tool. The BIG IDEA tool!

Luke 12:13-48

The Message (MSG)
I’m posting a link, rather then the whole thing, I don’t want to screw with my word count
http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Luke%2012:13-48&version=MSG;NLT

Needless to say, it is a BEAST of a passage to get through. And if you can get through it all in one go, I commend you, but I’m going to be looking at it in 3 chunks, as Peter did when he was teaching us.

The first chunk is verses 13-21
http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Luke%2012:13-21&version=MSG;NLT

The point Jesus is making is this – don’t spend your whole life working for things that don’t matter. Who cares how much money you have at the end of the day? When you die, you die. You don’t take your money with you. You don’t take your possessions.

Although, there is one treasure we take with us when we die. The relationship we have with Jesus – thats the BIG IDEA for the series of passages.

Here Jesus emphasises the fact that it’s all well and good working hard through your life, but be careful what your doing with your physical treasures.
My view on it is this way – the physical things we have, are given to us by God, the same way as our gifts and characteristics are.
So, for example, I’ve been given this laptop by God, how can I turn that around, to quote the song “Every blessing you pour out, I’ll turn back to praise.” How can I turn this laptop, into something to praise God with?
Well, one way I do that is through this blog.

In the same way, I turn my skills as a leader around to praise God. I help out as a leader (this year, and a trainee in the past) and through the way I lead, the way I live, I try to show God’s love to others. Sometimes I mess up, who doesn’t? But the point is, that I try and turn everything God gives me, into a way to pour the glory back to him.

I know I’m rubbish at that when it comes to competition – I love to win, and really I shouldn’t take the view that when  I win, it’s because I’m awesome.  I should really be thinking, look at how God’s made me – these are the things I’m good at, how fantastic is it that He made me a fast runner? I should really spend more time thanking God, and not thinking about how awesome I am. Because really we’re all the same. I’m not any more or less important then anybody else.

David Cameron – just as important as me
The guy who mops shop floors at night – just as important as me. Just as important as David Cameron.

Because it’s not about what stuff we have on earth that matters, but the relationship we have with God, the treasure we’re storing in heaven!

Anyway, back to the passage.
The second section we looked at is still in Luke 12:22-34
http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Luke%2012:22-34&version=MSG;NLT
I actually love the translation in the message here.

It’s really speaks to me, because of the language, phrasing, and rhythm.

The big picture is still the same. Trust in God to provide for you
25-28“Has anyone by fussing before the mirror ever gotten taller by so much as an inch? If fussing can’t even do that, why fuss at all? Walk into the fields and look at the wildflowers. They don’t fuss with their appearance—but have you ever seen color and design quite like it? The ten best-dressed men and women in the country look shabby alongside them. If God gives such attention to the wildflowers, most of them never even seen, don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you?”

This paragraph just shouts out to me. It’s a great example. I can’t really add to it.

The third section we looked at is 25-48

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Luke%2012:35-48&version=MSG

In this section Jesus focuses on HOW important it is. If you read through the passage you see “gentle” Jesus is taking a rather hardline angle on this. He does that because it is important! The one of the most important ideas there is. Trust in God, let him care for you.

 

“He is a blessed man if when the master shows up he’s doing his job.” – Don’t let the boss catch you napping.

Hope you enjoyed reading! Will have another post up later today/ early morning about camping out over night
and then another about the teaching we have later today!

Leave a Reply

