Is there a 'solution' to life?


Ok! Part 3 of a three part series, the climax the most important part.

Gonna be looking at a few bits and bobs from the Bible this session, in particular Acts 2.

 

Acts 2 is when the Holy Spirit, the 3rd and most often over-looked aspect of God.

I’m going to split this into 4 small sections

Who/what is the Holy Spirit?
What has it got to offer me?

and finally, how to respond.

 

Ok, so the Holy Spirit is hard (on so many levels) to discribe, I really like the song that the Newsboys did, called “Spirit Thing” –http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nc0C3qcmot4 Which is quite helpful in explaining.

The Holy Spirit is the bit of God that interacts with us on a personal level. It “lives” in us, Jesus describes it like this

John 16:12-15

The Message (MSG)

12-15“I still have many things to tell you, but you can’t handle them now. But when the Friend comes, the Spirit of the Truth, he will take you by the hand and guide you into all the truth there is. He won’t draw attention to himself, but will make sense out of what is about to happen and, indeed, out of all that I have done and said. He will honor me; he will take from me and deliver it to you. Everything the Father has is also mine. That is why I’ve said, ‘He takes from me and delivers to you.’

It’s hard to teach what the Spirit is, you have to get to know Him.

What has the Spirit got to offer me?

Well, remember a wee while ago I mentioned Peter’s denial of Jesus? Well, the Spirit changed him from a wimp, to somebody who ended up dying as a martyr, be coming one of two key figures in establishing the Church (the other being Paul).

Side fact, Peter was crucified upside down, and the symbol of a cross upside down is often used as a symbol of him, so all the “Goths” at highschool who wore crosses upside-down where actually supporting St. Peter with out realising it. Go figure huh?

Well, Acts 2 is where the Spirit first makes a public appearance.
http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Acts+2&version=MSG

 

He quotes from Joel 2:28-32        Joel lived between 830-750BC

(http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Joel%202:28-32&version=MSG)

The Spirit of God enters into the Disciples, and it changes them – they’d been hiding away in locked rooms, and it changes them so drastically they go out into the street, and are being so bold in their preaching, people think they might be drunk!

When the Holy Spirit is with you, there is nothing you can’t do, it brings a multitude of gifts; Wisdom, knowledge (prophesy, knowing things you couldn’t know otherwise) speaking other languages, healing and discernment (seeing the truth in things).

Not only that, but the lifestyle the Spirit encourages us to live, brings out certain traits;

Galatians 5:22-23

New International Version (NIV)

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

Who doesn’t want a bit of joy in their life?

So, how should we respond to the Spirit? Well, it’s a two step process, step 1 clear out the junk, invite God for some spring summer cleaning; Pray along the lines of

“God, I know I mess up, I know that I do things that are wrong, that upset you. Please forget about those mistakes, help me to move on past them.”

Then, for the second step, invite the Spirit to fill you up again, with good things.

“God, thank you for cleaning all the muck out of my life, I pray that Your Spirit will come and live in me now, fill me up with Your Spirit so that there is no room for bad things, so that my life is focused on You, and You alone.”

If you prayed something along those lines please contact your local minister, or any other Christian you know, or get in contact with me via email at 10010504@live.napier.ac.uk

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

