Is there a 'solution' to life?


Ok, so yesturday I was talking about taking responsibility for you actions. Today I’m talking about consequences.

I’m still working through my Hitch Hikers Guide, and it’s proving to be an interesting read, it’s tough to take it slow and do the side reading required, I’ve read most, if not all of this section of the Bible at one time or another, and it is hard to step back from that, and take a new look, get a new view and learn something from it. However, with Colin Sinclair’s guide, I’m find it much easier.

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Genesis%204,5&version=NCV

Chapter’s 4 and 5.

This is the story of Cain and Abel.

Cain was the first born son, he became a grain farmer, his brother, Abel, herded animals. When the time comes to say thanks to God, Abel takes the pride of his herd. The best bits of his first calf/lamb (which ever baby version of the animals he herded) and gave them to God. God was well pleased! Then Cain comes along, he’s thanking God, but he doesn’t put anything into it – he offers God some “food from the ground” we’re not told if it’s good food or bad food, just that it’s “food from the ground” God isn’t pleased, perhaps it’s to do with what it meant to Cain, because to a God who has everything, I don’t think quantity matters at all – in fact, the New Testament backs me up on that,

Mark 12:41-44

New Century Version (NCV)

True Giving

41 Jesus sat near the Temple money box and watched the people put in their money. Many rich people gave large sums of money.42 Then a poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, which were only worth a few cents.43 Calling his followers to him, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow gave more than all those rich people. 44 They gave only what they did not need. This woman is very poor, but she gave all she had; she gave all she had to live on.”

But yeah, this post isn’t about giving. It’s about consequences and what happens next?

Well at this point, Cain could have gone “Oh no, God didn’t like what I offered, how can I make it right?” instead, he gets angry, he becomes full of hatred, his brother, completely ignorant of that, goes for a stroll in the field with his brother. Just for a walk, then Cain takes a swing at his brother, attacks him, and kills him. I’ve been running with my brother once or twice, and I can’t imagine, just how angry, how full of menace he’d have to be, to get me to come out running, away from everybody, then take a crack at me, never mind kill me!

Cain hasn’t taken responsibility for his actions with the offering, he goes off the deep end, trying to hide his failure, by erasing his brother’s success.

 

Well, Cain gets what is coming to him. God curses him, takes away what Cain loves to do, what he needs to do make a living and makes his life miserable.

Cain has to suffer the consequences of what he did. He doesn’t like it. He hates it.

Genesis 4:13-14

New Century Version (NCV)

13 Then Cain said to the Lord, “This punishment is more than I can stand!14 Today you have forced me to stop working the ground, and now I must hide from you. I must wander around on the earth, and anyone who meets me can kill me.”

God puts a stop to that, Cain gets the full blast of God’s wrath, and God makes sure, he can’t wuss out, and get somebody to kill him and end it early.

 

Everything we do has consequences, we might not see them, but they do have consequences. Thinking about these consequences is important. Example, at work, we have a lot of banter in the kitchen, one of the chefs, and myself like to wind each other up a bit, have a laugh, at the other’s and our own expense. Often I just rise above it when he passes a comment, but sometimes, if I’m in the mood I’ll take a snipe at him too, it’s all in fun.  On Sunday, he’d got a bit cheeky, and then said “you just going to take it then?” or something similar, and I said, “wait and see you’ll get it” at which he laughed. Later on, I rats tailed him (whipped him with a wound up cloth) right across the arse. Massive sound, for him, a bit of a shock and a fair bit of pain. When I did that, I didn’t think about the consequences, he could have turned round and punched me, could have thrown a rager and got me fired. Instead he ran and got a full body towel – rather then a hand towel, chased me round the kitchen and then out the door. He didn’t get me, I relaxed. We shook hands, no harm no foul, and went for a pint.

Monday.

I arrive at work, we have a bit more banter, including all the expected threats about retribution, and about him limping (which he wasn’t actually) etc etc. Lots of banter. That night, he got me back. Locked a through door, and came in behind me with the towel. Pro tips for this sitation. Don’t stand still, don’t turn away getting hit in the bum is more humiliating then the arm, or chest, as well as more painful. Close in the distance, don’t let the other person get a proper shot at you.
Or just try the door, and realise it isn’t locked, he’s was just bluffing. He got his revenge, 54 hours later, I have a large red, arrow head shaped mark on my arm, where he nailed me with his rats tail.

I didn’t think about the consequences of my actions when I whipped him. Last night, when his guard was down, I could have nailed him again, same spot, twice as hard (with a wet towel, more tightly wound, and it would have left a proper mark on him that way) but I didn’t I actually thought a head for once, and realised that was starting a battle with a foe heavier, stronger, taller and better equipped than myself. So I didn’t whip him back. Also, it would have been totally unchristian to not just turn the other cheek. That was totally on my mind as well *cough fail Andrew cough*.

 

So, something I’m not so good at is thinking about consequences, so for the next while, as well as taking responsibility, I’m going to try and think things through before I do them. It might just do a lot for me, improve relationships, improve my gaming, improve my life in general. How about you readers? are you going to think about your actions, and then accept the consequences, good or bad?

 

Cheers for reading.

Leave a Reply

