Is there a 'solution' to life?


So, I’m faced with a pretty horrendous task today, recap 30,000 words of blogging and 31 chapters of the Bible in under 1500 words. It feels pretty daunting, but I’m actually up for it.

I was at the gym yesterday, for the first time in about 13-14 months, as part of my new years resolutions on improving myself. I was there with a friend who’s a few years older than me, and a few arm sizes bigger, so it wasn’t a fair contest, in any way. Still, I worked my little legs off trying to keep up with the big boys, and I don’t hurt today as much as I thought I would.

Which has left me feeling really, really good. I think I understand why people wreck themselves in the gym and doing sport – you feel great afterwards.

However, I don’t have a physical challenge today, but an intellectual one. How to compress the understanding I’ve gained from blogging 1-31 Genesis with you?

Well that’s 10% of my word count gone already, so I’d better get started.

Let’s look at what Genesis is first, what does Genesis mean?

Genesis \ge-ne-sis\

  1. (n.) The act of producing, or giving birth or origin to anything; the process or mode of originating; production; formation; origination.
  2. (n.) The first book of the Old Testament; — so called by the Greek translators, from its containing the history of the creation of the world and of the human race.
  3. (n.) Same as Generation.

Big shout out to Google for that one.

Let’s think about the name for just a few more seconds. “The act of producing, or giving birth.”

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Genesis%201-31&version=NCV
That’s right, it’s the account of God’s creation of the world. Genesis 1-2

Then comes the screw up,

mankind “sinning” (For an explanation on sinning, see my next post) and it’s consequences. Genesis 3.

The next 9 chapters 4-12 are the family history of the people of God, including a man called Noah, he was a character, read about him in Genesis 6,7 and 8.

After Noah comes the founder of Judaism, and thus Christianity and Islam. Abram, who was renamed Abraham. God chooses Abram, and asks him to do all sorts of things. Abram does pretty well, he isn’t perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but he does what God tells him to do.

After Abram who became Abraham, came his son Isaac, who’s story starts at Genesis 24, with finding a wife, and finishes with him dying a very old, very rich man, with two strong sons, Jacob and Esau, twins. (non-identical)

His son Jacob is the next character in our tale, he comes in at Chapter 27, with a little bit of trickery and sibling rivalry, he makes his way on in life, before being fooled himself, and getting married, twice!

Chapter 30 is all about the family squabbles, that come from having two wives, and the power plays between them. It reads as though Jacob is a little whipped, but then, most men who have one wife are whipped in one way or another, and having two is double the trouble, surely.

Chapter 31 is more family politics, this time Jacob is running away from the in-laws, and not without reason, so he makes his get away, and God’s behest. The in-laws give chase and drama ensues, it’s all there, give it a read.

 

Ok, so that’s the story summed up, and I’ve got 900 words or so to summarise the teachings and wrap it all up… No problem.

I’ve covered points from relationships, to making mistakes, where things start, where not to start, I’ve talked about various character flaws and promises. That’s quite alot. I could give  quick run down of what was in each post… but that would be pointless, flick through the blogs I’ve written for that. The teachings are all of the same essence anyway. That God is core to life. That God is at the centre of healthy living, He isn’t a secret we need to keep to ourselves. God is here for us, not just you and me, but for us as a people, as humanity.

It’s humanity that needs God. Look at our society at the moment, and look at the societies of other places and countries. Nobody really has it good right now.

I don’t think that has something to do with economics, or politics. More I think, it has something to do with our actions as a people. It’s drilled into us at school, look out for number one. People will help you only as long as they can help themselves in the process.

What we need to be focusing on is helping others because it’s right. Seriously, take a step out and help somebody, instead of standing back and watching, get involved.

Life is what you make it, if you make your life about helping others, then others will help you. If you make your life about making the world a better place, your world will get a little better.

In essence, what I’m trying to say with my blog is this:

Go out and grab life by the [insert appropriate body part here] and get working. Life wasn’t meant to be idled away behind a computer screen, it was meant to lived face to face, side my side and moving.

 

Well, where does God come into all of that? God is love. That is who God is. Where does love fit into what I’ve been talking about?

If you seriously can’t see that, then I don’t know what more to say. Be motivated by love for God, if you don’t believe in God, be motived by love for your fellow human.

 

And if that can’t motivate you to show a little compassion in life, then is life worth living?

 

Life is love, life is togetherness. Life is family, friends, strangers and outsiders. Life is love, and love is God. Life is not a mystery.

 

Leave a Reply

