Is there a 'solution' to life?


So, Yesterday I was talking about Lent, explaining about Lent is about making it easier to grow closer to God. I didn’t cover how to do that though.

 

Having a relationship with God, is the same in many ways as having a relationship with another human. To make a relationship work you need one thing. Communication. You can’t have a relationship with somebody you’re not talking to.

Prayer is talking to God, it sounds so simple, but there is so much unessential baggage attached to prayer. When we think about prayer you maybe think of a minister/pastor/priest standing at the front of a church, or school assembly and rambling on and on. It can be hard to follow what’s being said, especially when fancy language is used.

Saying that, sometimes a long prayer being said for everybody is important, but more on that later!

Prayer is talked about in the Bible, in the letter written by James (one of my favourite letters), James talks about when we should pray. Psalms is basically a book of prayers to God.

Jesus teaches about prayer as well.

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Luke+11%3A1-13&version=NCV

What Jesus is talking about is the relationship between a Father and a child. I don’t know about you, but I find it pretty easy to talk to my Dad about stuff, I’ll call him about university stuff and about social stuff.

Even though my dad doesn’t know my friends, he’s still interested in what I have to say because he cares. He’s my dad, he does it because he loves me. How much more then, does my Father in heaven love me? So much more! (nothing against you Dad!)

So, Praying, is talking, communicating with God. It doesn’t matter if you say it out loud, or just in your head. God knows what you’re thinking. He knows what you mean, so don’t get bothered if your words come out wrong. Don’t get stressed out if you struggle with fancy words. God don’t care about your language, or how you speak. He’s just glad that you’re talking to him.

So that covers what praying is, and basically covers how to pray. Jesus says it all.

Why should I pray?

Prayer is good for you! It’s good to express your thoughts your hopes, plans, dreams, fears, failures and successes. Never mind the fact that you’re telling them to God. God who knows best of all. So, if you’re in a sticky situation, and you’re not sure how you’re going to cope, pray! Ask God to help you, He will. If you ask God He WILL answer you. He might not answer how you want, the same way when you ask your parents “can I go to Disney land” and they say “no.” You’re really disappointed, but to be fair, it’s over priced and over rated, and going camping was fun anyway.

When and where should I pray? Well, I’ve said why you should pray, and it covers all sorts of situations. A good time to pray is every time you can! Nothing is too big or too small for God. You can pray anywhere, the classic “Oh please God don’t let me throw up” while on a roller-coaster to “Oh God I’ve dropped a hammer on my foot and it really hurts” A more serious example would be before an exam “I’m really stressing out here lord please would you help me to chill out and do my best.”
As for where, anywhere is good. My personal favourite is while I’m out running or at the gym. I’m busy physically but  I have nothing good to do with my noggin! So I get praying, and thinking about blogging, SU, CU and a bunch of other Christian organsations I’m involved with or connected to.

So that is What, when, where, why and how to pray.

I’ll leave you with this to think about;

James 5:13-18

New Century Version (NCV)

The Power of Prayer

13 Anyone who is having troubles should pray. Anyone who is happy should sing praises.14 Anyone who is sick should call the church’s elders. They should pray for and pour oil on the person[a] in the name of the Lord.15 And the prayer that is said with faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will heal that person. And if the person has sinned, the sins will be forgiven.16 Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so God can heal you. When a believing person prays, great things happen.17 Elijah was a human being just like us. He prayed that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years!18 Then Elijah prayed again, and the rain came down from the sky, and the land produced crops again.

 

Comments on: "What is Praying? Why should I Pray? How do I Pray? When and Where do I Pray?" (1)

Leave a Reply

