Is there a 'solution' to life?


Ok, so recently there has been this thing going around facebook, it’s a picture of a man doing push-ups or sit up, with the caption “1 like = 5 situps/5 pushups”. Now, I saw this a while ago, and was like “I could do that” then I rose above such temptations, knowing that I would end up hurting myself/ throwing up from exhaustion. Then I gave into temptation. I don’t know exactly how many push ups I can do without stopping, last time I tried I managed about 50. At the moment the counter is at 15 likes, thus 75 push ups. However, it took 15 minutes to get to that point, and I’m accepting likes up until noon on Thursday. Another 39 hours. Seeing it climb so rapidly I realise I might have bitten off a little more than I can chew, so to speak. In order to justify this blog I googled “Biblical Characters who bit of more than they could chew” I got nothing from Google. So I thought about it for a bit. Every single biblical character of importance has a monumental task to do. David VS. Goliath, Gideon and mideonites, Samson and the Philistines. The list goes on through the whole of the old testament and into the new. Thinking more along this thought I realised the whole point of the bible is that everybody involved couldn’t have managed their tasks with out the power of God supporting them. DUH Andrew, get your head screwed on right! So, with this in mind, which, if any, did something pointless just to see if they could? Well, at this point, the new testament isn’t much help, because they where all spirit filled and sensible! So, Sampson once did pointless stuff just because. He set a riddle for these guys, and offered them a lovely set of clothes if they could get it right! Nobody did… until his wife told them all the answer, so he went to a near by village and killed about 3 dozen men (actually it was 30, I just looked it up), took their clothes and gave them to the winners. That was pretty stupid. I figure if God gave Sampson strength to abuse He might go so far as to do the same for me? here’s the reference http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Judges%2013:24,%20Judges%2014&version=NIVAnother good example of when people did idiotic things is David’s 3 friends, he was hiding out from Saul, in a cave, and really, really thirsty, he’s mates here him complaining about it, so they go down to the well to get some water. sounds easy right? Only problem, the nearest well is on the other side of the enemy battle lines. Problem? Not really, since these where the biblical equivalent of the expendables. They fought their way through to get some water, covered each others backs when surrounded by litterally thousands of troops, drew up the water, carried it back to David, at which point… he spills it all on the ground saying, basically, “How could you be so reckless and foolish!?” I would be raging if he did that to me, and it tells you something about David that he was brash enough to insult the act of intense battle prowess that these three guys demonstrated… Brave/ idiotic, your choice. All that is expressed in just three verses ”

2 Samuel 23:15-17

New International Version (NIV)

15 David longed for water and said, “Oh, that someone would get me a drink of water from the well near the gate of Bethlehem!” 16 So the three mighty warriors broke through the Philistine lines, drew water from the well near the gate of Bethlehem and carried it back to David. But he refused to drink it; instead, he poured(A) it out before the Lord. 17 “Far be it from me, Lord, to do this!” he said. “Is it not the blood(B) of men who went at the risk of their lives?” And David would not drink it. Such were the exploits of the three mighty warriors.”

So, there are a couple of examples in the OT where people did foolish things to the glory of God in some cases and others not. My challenge isn’t anything great or glorifying, it’s really much more of an ego deflating exercises. So, if you “like” join in the fun with me and my friends on facebook http://www.facebook.com/andrew.j.goudie/posts/371472176252116?notif_t=like Because why not do something foolish? Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

