Is there a 'solution' to life?


Gideon is one of my favourite biblical Characters, for one reason. Self-obsession, not that Gideon was self obsessed. More like I see a lot of Gideon in myself.

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Judges%206-8&version=NIV

Connection 1 – Names

Now according to Wikipedia, Gideon means “Mighty warrior” and The word is derived from the Greek: Ανδρέας, Andreas, itself related to Ancient Greek: ἀνήρ/ἀνδρός aner/andros, “man” (as opposed to “woman”), thus meaning “manly” and, as consequence, “strong”, “courageous”, and “warrior”.

Warrior and mighty warrior bah duuuuuhhhhhhh.

Connection 2 – Family

Gideon was, as his own words paint him “My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house.” The youngest son. I’m a youngest son as well!

Connection number 3 – Plagued with doubts

Gideon is famous for a few things, one is the sheep’s skin blanket issue. God sent an angel to him, told him a whole bunch of stuff about his calling (which was to kill the Midianites) but before much later Gideon is doubting God, and the whole fleece comes out.

36 Gideon said to God, “If you will save Israel by my hand as you have promised— 37 look, I will place a wool fleece on the threshing floor. If there is dew only on the fleece and all the ground is dry, then I will know that you will save Israel by my hand, as you said.” 38 And that is what happened. Gideon rose early the next day; he squeezed the fleece and wrung out the dew—a bowlful of water.

39 Then Gideon said to God, “Do not be angry with me. Let me make just one more request. Allow me one more test with the fleece, but this time make the fleece dry and let the ground be covered with dew.”40 That night God did so. Only the fleece was dry; all the ground was covered with dew. Judges 6:36-40 (NIV)

Now I doubt God all the time. The only time I’ve ever had a 100% there is no doubt whatsoever is when I proposed, but if you want to hear that story you’ll have to speak to me privately!

Lots of other times I’ve been sure, but on reflection you ask yourself, maybe it was my own subconscious bouncing around and around. You always ask yourself, was that really God?

There’s faith and there’s stupidity. If God told me to jump off a building I would not just find a building and jump that’s for darn sure. There would be a lot of fleece chat. AN AWFUL LOT.

Connection number 4 – Leadership

Gideon was a leader, in fact He was the Biblical version of Leonidas. That’s for another time though, He lead is the main thing. I’m a leader, I like to lead.

There’s one other thing we connect in as well though

Right at the end of Gideon’s life he messes up, Gideon betrays God. I’m not perfect, I have also failed, I’ve also messed up. I’ve done things I’m not proud of, that God’s not proud of, from fear, guilt, greed basically the whole 7 yards so to speak. I’m only human, Gideon was only human. It’s nice knowing that no matter how big a task that we can still fail, it’s still OK to be human and mess up occasionally.

Thank God for that!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

